Organisers of the Daylight Awards marked UNESCO International Day of Light yesterday (May 16) by announcing the winners of the 2022 laureates for Daylight Research and Daylight in Architecture in an online, livestreamed event.

The Architecture award went to Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara of Grafton Architects, and the Research award to Anna Wirz-Justice.

The international audience heard how the winning architects “use natural light to differentiate and articulate spaces of different importance, functional purpose and experiential atmosphere.

“Daylight is employed in their design process as an integrated and irreplaceable quality, along with the spatial arrangement, structural frame and technical systems.

Research winner Anna Wirz-Justice has undertaken pioneering research on how human circadian rhythms and sleep are regulated by light. Defining the key parameters of how light acts as a biological stimulus, including the importance of when we see light, how long we see it, and of what intensity and colour spectrum.

The recording of the livestream will be available on the Daylight Awards website soon.

Previous articleMartin’s back in the saddle for sight-loss charity
Next articleTechnal tackles coastal storms at Carbis Bay Hotel